Thursday, 28 February 2013

SNP Lose Majority Control of Angus

In Angus, Cllr Ewan Smith (Arbroath West and Letham) has defected from SNP to Independent, citing threats to close local primary schools that he had campaigned to protect in his election campaign.  The defection means the SNP have lost majority control of the council.

The SNP now have 14 out of the 29 councillors on Angus Council.  The combined opposition hold the other 15, comprised of 9 Independents (including Smith), 4 Conservatives, 1 Labour and 1 Lib Dem.  If the SNP can't find a deal to stabilise their administration they may end up in the same situation as the 2007-12 Council where the SNP held the most seats but an administration was formed from an alliance of all the other political groups.

With the Rutherglen South by-election earlier this month giving majority control of South Lanarkshire to Labour, it means that the overall picture of Scotland's councils is now:

  • 5 under Labour control (Glasgow, North Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire, South Lanarkshire, West Dunbartonshire)
  • 3 under Independents control (Na h-Eilean Siar, Orkney Islands, Shetland Islands)
  • 1 under SNP control (Dundee)
  • The remaining 23 are under no overall control.

No comments:

Post a Comment