Wednesday, 20 March 2013

How Scottish MPs Voted on the Workfare Bill

Yesterday the House of Commons passed the Jobseekers (Back to Work Schemes) Bill, which included a clause that retroactively changed the law to prevent back payment of approximately £130 million worth of benefits that had been found by a court decision to have been wrongly withheld.

The following list is how Scottish MPs voted on this bill.

1 of 1 (100%) of Conservative MPs
David Mundell (Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale)

8 of 11 (73%) of Liberal Democrats MPs
Danny Alexander (Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey)
Malcolm Bruce (Gordon)
Menzies Campbell (Fife North East)
Alistair Carmichael (Orkney and Shetland)
Michael Moore (Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk)
Alan Reid (Argyll and Bute)
Jo Swinson (East Dunbartonshire)
John Thurso (Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross)

33 of 40 (83%) Labour MPs
Douglas Alexander (Paisley and Renfrewshire South)
Willie Bain (Glasgow North East)
Gordon Banks (Ochil and South Perthshire)
Anne Begg (Aberdeen South)
Gordon Brown (Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath)
Russell Brown (Dumfries and Galloway)
Iain McKenzie (Inverclyde)
Tom Clarke (Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill)
Margaret Curran (Glasgow East)
Alistair Darling (Edinburgh South West)
Thomas Docherty (Dunfermline and West Fife)
Brian Donohoe (Central Ayrshire)
Frank Doran (Aberdeen North)
Gemma Doyle (West Dunbartonshire)
Shiela Gilmore (Edinburgh East)
Tom Greatrex (Rutherglen and Hamilton West)
David Hamilton (Midlothian)
Tom Harris (Glasgow South)
Jim Hood (Lanark and Hamilton East)
Cathy Jamieson (Kilmarnock and Loudoun)
Michael McCann (East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow)
Gregg McClymont (Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East)
Anne McGuire (Stirling)
Ann McKechin (Glasgow North)
Graeme Morrice (Livingston)
Jim Murphy (East Renfrewshire)
Ian Murray (Edinburgh South)
Pamela Nash (Airdrie and Shotts)
Fiona O'Donnell (East Lothian)
John Robertson (Glasgow North West)
Frank Roy (Motherwell and Wishaw)
Lindsay Roy (Glenrothes)
Anas Sarwar (Glasgow Central)

1 of 1 (100%) of Independent MPs
Eric Joyce (Falkirk)

3 of 11 (27%) of Liberal Democrats MPs
Mike Crockart (Edinburgh West)
Charles Kennedy (Ross, Skye and Lochaber)
Robert Smith (West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine)

7 of 40 (18%) Labour MPs
Katy Clark (North Ayrshire and Arran)
Michael Connarty (Linlithgow and East Falkirk)
Ian Davidson (Glasgow South West)
Mark Lazarowicz (Edinburgh North and Leith)
Jim McGovern (Dundee West)
Sandra Osborne (Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock)
Jim Sheridan (Paisley and Renfrewshire North)

6 of 6 (100%) of SNP MPs
Stewart Hosie (Dundee East)
Angus MacNeil (Na h-Eileanan an Iar)
Angus Robertson (Moray)
Mike Weir (Angus)
Eilidh Whiteford (Banff and Buchan)
Pete Wishart (Perth and North Perthshire)

This list has been sourced from the Hansard coverage of proceedings, available here.

No comments:

Post a Comment